North Carolina State Marriage Laws
Wake County Registry of Deeds
Wake County Justice Center
300 S. Salisbury St., Suite 1700
Raleigh, NC 27601
PO Box 1897
Raleigh, NC 27602
Here is what you need to bring with you, and what you need to know about the North Carolina marriage laws ...
- You may acquire a license at the Register of Deeds Office in any North Carolina County
($60 - cash only - The license is good immediately upon issuance and is valid for 60 days. White Dove Chapel is in Wake County)
- Both parties must be present. Applicants (bride and groom) must show their identification and sign the marriage license at the Wake County Register of Deeds office. Marriage licenses are issued between 8:30 am and 4:30 pm, Monday through Friday, excluding County-observed holidays. Couples applying between 12:30 and 2:30 p.m. should expect up to an hour's wait. The Register of Deeds is located at One Bank of America Plaza, 421 Fayetteville Street, Suite 300, Raleigh, NC 27601. Call (919) 856-5460 if you need more information.
- SS# in the form of documentation: W-2 forms, pay stubs, social security card
- Applicants (bride and groom) who wish to obtain their marriage licenses in Wake County may complete their application online or at the Wake County Register of Deeds office, One Bank of America Plaza, 421 Fayetteville Street, Suite 300, Raleigh, NC 27601.
- 21 and over may use a valid driver's license, passport, certified copy of birth certificate
- 20 and under must have a certified copy of birth certificate
- 16 or 17 must provide written parental permission and a certified copy of birth certificate
- No pre-marital counseling required
- No blood test or waiting period required
- Divorced parties must provide a copy of divorce decree if it was finalized within 30 days of applying for a new license
- Certified copy of marriage license $10.00 each
Locate the Chapel